Kendrick Lamar – To Pimp A Butterfly (Album)

It’s been over a week since rapper Kendrick Lamar released his newest album To Pimp A Butterfly and the music world seems to be quietly digesting the king’s latest project.  I’m not a rap analyst by any means, but from rap connoisseur such as theneedledrop, this seems to be a really special album.  (spoiler alert – he gave it a 10).  Check out his very in-depth analysis of the album below.

its albums like this that people use as benchmarks in musical history, and it also happens to be fantastically enjoyable as well” – theneedledrop.

JAGGS – See You Rave (Revealed Preview)

Since Hardwell dropped their debut single BleepDiFreak at Tomorrowland 2014, the dutch duo JAGGS have their 2nd Revealed Recordings release ‘See You Rave,’ set to release on March 20th. I’m a big fan of both of these tracks from this group and look forward to what they have prepared for 2015. They’ve also released two other singles Karambit (released through Hysteria Records) and Springboard (available for free download on their Soundcloud); both of which can be found below in this post.

Tchami – After Life (featuring Stacy Barthe)

The last time we heard Tchami released a sound, it was his mega hit remix to Jack U‘s Take U There.  This time, he brings his dark, deep dance style back into the forefront with his newest original called After Life, featuring Stacy Barthe.  This song will definitely be found at the close of a late night in the clubs, so you’ve been warned of the murky feel of the track.  Respect the bass… happy listening!

California Exempt – Dreaming EP

California Exempt, a 17-year-old producer from Maine, has been making huge strides over the past few weeks.  I contacted him after I first heard his chillwave remix of Kanye West‘s Love Lockdown.  Since, we have been in contact a few times.  I remain impressed with his work and am excited for his future in the music world.  I asked him about his newest project, which is an EP that was officially released on March 3rd, entitled Dreaming.  Here’s what he had to say about it.

It began as simply a culmination of thoughts, and slowly grew into a style and sound that I am extremely proud of. I have been working on this release for 4 to 5 months now, on and off, and I couldn’t be more happy with the outcome. The name dreaming is mainly derived from the sleepy, relaxing connotation that many, if not all of my songs are made with. When you listen to it, I want you to be able to relax and really think while doing so, hence the title”.

The album includes his remixes of Zhu‘s Faded and Flume‘s Insane, along with a pair of originals.  His album is available for $5 at, but preview it below.  Keep up the good work, man!

Jack Ü – Where Are Ü Now (ft. Justin Bieber) [Halogen Remix]

Ever since I heard this song for the first time, this has been on repeat.  I’ve been expecting some crazy Jack Ü remixes, but Halogen‘s take of Where Are Ü Now took the funky and massive original and flipped it into a much more upbeat dance track relatively quickly.

SNN’s February Recap

Well, we had an awesome February for dance music.  It kicked off on February 2nd with the release of You Know, the collaboration between electronic staple Zeds Dead and the fast riser Oliver Heldens.  SNBRN (Sunburn) continued his hot streak with some Sunset House and his original Raindrops.  Along the way, wonder Madeon teamed up with Passion Pit for a funky dance tune Pay No Mind. Chicago-dance group Autograf remixed ODESZA’s All We Need, who then remixed RAC‘s We Belong.  Finally, Jack Ü (Skrillex and Diplo) wrapped up the crazy month with their huge and highly anticipated album – which is sure to be in the conversation at the end of the year as one of the best – that included collaborations with the infamous Justin Bieber and the best performer at the Superbowl halftime show Missy Elliott.  So without further ado, here is SNN’s February recap below, starting with the top ten:

  1. Jack Ü – Where Are Ü Now (ft. Justin Bieber)
  2. Zeds Dead & Oliver Heldens – You Know
  3. Jack Ü – Take Ü There (ft. Kiesza) [Missy Elliott Remix]
  4. SNBRN – Raindrops (ft. Kerli)
  5. ODESZA – All We Need [Autograph Remix]
  6. Elephante – Shake The Earth [OLWIK Remix]
  7. MOWE – Birds Flying High
  8. The Magician – Sunlight (ft. Years and Years) [Elephante Remix]
  9. RAC – We Belong (ft. Katie Herzig) [ODESZA Remix]
  10. Madeon – Pay No Mind (ft. Passion Pit)

Action Bronson – Baby Blue featuring Chance the Rapper

Action Bronson‘s next album can’t come any sooner.  Mr. Wonderful is coming out March 24th, but in the mean time, turn Baby Blue featuring Chance the Rapper up!

Below is Action’s tease link for the album, which includes everything he’s put out on Soundcloud prior to the later release.

Major Lazer & DJ Snake – Lean On

This guy had a crazy weekend.  Diplo celebrated the release of his Jack U album with Skrillex by throwing a 24-hour set during the weekend, streamable for fans online.  Within a day of the conclusion of the release party, he then released another banger as a part of Major Lazer with producer DJ Snake called Lean On, featuring Mø.  It’s hard not to post anything this guy does, the versatility of is music and his knack for pushing the boundaries of modern dance music is incredible.  Who knows what’s next for Diplo, Jack U, Major Lazer… but whatever you want to call him, he’s on fire.